Skip to main navigation.

About Us

Parke County REMC is a nonprofit and member-owned electric cooperative. Incorporated in 1937 by a group of rural citizens, it exists today to distribute quality service and electricity to the members in portions of six counties: Parke, Putnam, Clay, Vigo, Montgomery and Fountain.

Currently, Parke County Rural Electric Membership Corporation (REMC), is located on the south side of the square in Rockville, Indiana. As your utility, we serve over 12,000 residential, commercial, and industrial members and are governed by a board of eight member-elected directors who oversee the general business affairs of the cooperative. Parke County REMC has employed a staff of men and women ready to serve your electrical and member needs.

As a member of the Touchstone Energy Cooperative, Parke County REMC allows us the opportunity to tap into resources and support from over 750 other energy cooperatives across 46 states. The Touchstone Energy Cooperative is driven by four core values. These values include commitment to community, integrity, accountability, and innovation, which corresponds to our mission statement. But as a member of Touchstone Energy, we will continue to self determine our own unique local presence within the community. At the same time, we do not stand alone.

Being a cooperative makes us different from other utilities. When an individual signs up for service with Parke County REMC, they become a member of a cooperative. We are owned by over 12,000 residential, commercial and industrial members which are governed by eight member-elected directors. Our philosophy is “owned by those we serve." At Parke County REMC, we are dedicated to exemplary service and an unparalleled quality of service.

Our mission is to be the provider of choice for energy services, to improve the communities we serve and to meet the unique needs of our individual member-owners.